Friday Friends: Guest Authors Skye Warren and Annika Martin

Friday Friends, guest authors, romance authorsWelcome to TWO very special Friday Friends today! We are hosting the fabulous Skye Warren and Annika Martin, co-authors of our Nice & Naughty Reading Club selection this month, Prisoner. The two authors “sat down” with me (via e-mail) and shared some interesting behind-the-scenes info about the book we’re all reading…and what’s ahead for this series.

Please welcome Skye and Annika!

*

Ella: I found myself fascinated with the concept of this series from the moment I heard of it. Who came up with the original kernel of an idea, and how did you end up writing this series together?

S&A: Thank you so much for having us on Nice Girls Writing Naughty. We’re thrilled to share Grayson and Abby’s story with you. Mostly naughty. Only the tiniest bit nice. 🙂

Let’s see. We had been emailing back and forth about books and writing and all sorts of things. It was primordial creative goo, and from that sprang the idea for us to co-write a book. We knew it would be a little darker than Annika’s hunky bank robber series and maybe less dark than Skye’s Wanderlust. A perfect blend.

Prisoner-SkyeWarren-AnnikaMartin-200x300Ella: Why criminals?

S&A: From there, we started throwing out ideas. Pretty much all of them had some element of criminality. We wanted to go taboo and different and have a strong hook. In the end, Grayson and Abby’s story really stood out. We had a clear vision of Abby as this shy girl with secrets showing up at the prison. She was so out of place, so afraid, so hopeful, and then there is this prisoner. From the first moment he takes too much interest in her. It’s compelling and… really hot.

It was also a lot of fun to imagine this powerful male contained in shackles behind bars, with Abby as the teacher in charge, and to build up the sexual attraction knowing the tables would turn and the dynamics would utterly change.

Ella: There’s been a lot of talk recently about Fifty Shades of Grey, D/s relationships, etc. Why do you think women are drawn to men who can take charge of them (at least in their fantasies)? Or is that hidden desire really as simple as having someone else be in control?

S&A: We love reading books that are challenging and exciting, stories that leave us breathless, unsure what to make of it all. That’s why we write dark books with taboo elements like captivity. Reading these kinds of books is a great way to have that intense emotional adventure, and it doesn’t have to mean anything in real life other than you like some wild reading. We believe that readers should be able to read what they want without being shamed, that enjoying your fantasies through fiction is a form of empowerment.

Ella: What was the research like for this book? How did you get the “prison feel” you were trying to achieve?

S&A: We read some first person accounts of being in a prison to get some of the feel. For example, some of the interactions with the guard came from that research, and details like the chairs being bolted down. Annika read the book Killers and the Women Who Love Them about ten times as a young girl, which is where the visiting room/vending machine details came from. (And which, okay, explains a lot!)

Ella: What’s ahead for the men (and women) of the Criminals & Captives series? (And when will we be getting another installment in our greedy little hands?)

S&A: We’re hard at work on the second book in the series and hope to have it released in early 2015! Here’s a little sneak peek just for Nice Girls Writing Naughty. This is from the POV of our heroine, Brooke, who has just made a bargain with Stone…a favor so that he won’t kill her doctor friend…

*

Stone has my hair in his grip again. He twists it. His erection is already thick and visible in his pants. I swallow and look away, full of dread and anger and shock… and something else—something dark and hot in my belly that I don’t want to think about. I force myself to glare at him, reminding myself to hate him.

His smile is dark and evil and beautiful. ”You think your hate’s going to put me off what I have coming to me? Sorry to inform you, sweetheart, your hate just makes it hotter.” Slowly he pulls me up so that I’m standing on my knees.

My heart pounds and my breath comes fast. Everything’s surreal, from the rip in his jeans to the melty feeling in my belly.

“I get it,” he continues. “Don’t think I don’t get it.” He keeps hold of my hair with one hand and brushes a stray lock from my eyes. “You want to save somebody who means something to you. Don’t think I don’t understand that.”

I’m on my knees in front of him, tears are streaming down my face. “He doesn’t mean something to me.”

“Shhhhh.” He wipes my tears with his thumb of the hand he holds the gun with. I track it out the corner of my eye, hating it so close to my face, even though it’s pointed away. “Shhhh. You’re just going to let me touch you, okay? I won’t even make you touch me back.”

*

WOW! If you have read Prisoner, you know Stone is the baddest of the badasses. His story should be mighty interesting… 🙂

NGWN Reading Club PicDon’t forget to join us over the weekend for a discussion of Skye and Annika’s first book in this series, Prisoner. It’s an intriguing read with a lot of worthwhile points to discuss. It will be a lot of fun, and one commenter from our reading club post over the weekend will win a gift pack including TAKE ME, Skye’s latest dark erotic anthology, and the TAKEN HOSTAGE BY KINKY BANK ROBBERS 3-book bundle from Annika. Don’t miss out!

9 responses to “Friday Friends: Guest Authors Skye Warren and Annika Martin

  1. Wow! That does seem to put 50 Shades to shame! Day job is crazy right now, but I’m going to try to read it tonight and join the discussion on the 28th!

    Thanks for joining us!

  2. Wow! Thanks so much for stopping by, Skye and Annika! Prisoner was really intense–not the type of story I generally read, but I’m glad I had the chance to “push my boundaries”, so to speak, LOL. I’m really intrigued by the other guys in the group and look forward to their stories. Thank you for the exclusive snippet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

