L is for…Laura #AtoZchallenge @ngwngroup @nonaraines

ngwnaprilatozeditedHi everyone! Welcome to the Nice Girls Writing Naughty A to Z Blog Challenge. (If you’d like to visit some of the other blogs participating in the A to Z Challenge, please click on the sunflower icon to the right.) Nona Raines here and–I feel a bit like Sesame Street saying this– today’s post is brought to you by the letter L.

I could go for “love” or even “lust” since I write sexy romance, but I think I’ll go with something different. I’ll go with Laura.

Laura filmThe film Laura was released 1944. It’s classified as a film noir and while the mystery is a huge part of the story, it’s also a romance. The twist is that when the movie starts, Laura is already believed dead. The police detective on the case finds himself falling in love with her as he follows the leads. Laura (played by the gorgeous actress Gene Tierney) is recalled in flashbacks by those who knew her. Dana Andrews does a wonderful job of playing the tough cop, but the film really belongs to Clifton Webb, who plays the supercilious Waldo.

I’m not sure when I first saw this film, but it made a great impression on me. As an author, I really appreciate the way the story unfolds. It’s a wonderful blend of romance and mystery and the ending lingers long after the film is over. In fact, the film even pops up in my book Uncollared, when the hero and heroine watch and discuss it.

So friends, tell me–is there a film that’s made a big impression on you?

Nona Raines
Hot Contemporary Romance
Edgy ~ Emotional ~ Erotic
www.nonaraines.com

Sign up for my newsletter for new release info and fun tidbits

2 responses to “L is for…Laura #AtoZchallenge @ngwngroup @nonaraines

  1. I love the idea of a hero and heroine discussing a movie together…so much gets revealed about how their minds and hearts work!
    I don’t know if I can name a single film that really “woke” me to art and storytelling in my younger years…but I spent a lot of time in movie theaters, and all those narratives unspooling on screen certainly did shape my sense of story.

    • Hi Lara, thanks for commenting. I love watching all kinds of films and I know they’ve often sparked my imagination. It’s so much fun to lose yourself in a good movie.

Leave a Reply

