C Is For… Cats!

20150301_0045

Why are cats the go-to animal for writers?  Hemingway had his mitten kittens, Lackey turned hers into psychic companions blessed by a god, Collette said that time spent with a cat is never wasted.  Why cats?  Why not dogs, or gerbils, or boa constrictors?

Is it because cats are quiet?  Mine aren’t.  This one, in particular, likes to sing the Song of His People to us at three in the morning.  In the hallway.  Where the echoes are best.  I think he’s channeling Pavarotti.  Is that they’re affectionate?  He likes to come into the bathroom after we shower and rub his fur all over our wet calves, where it sticks like Velcro.

It’s because they have infested the internet, isn’t it?  In Ancient Egypt, they were worshipped as gods, and they haven’t forgotten.  You wait.  We’ll find out the cartels behind all the global hacking scares are really cats.

What about you, Dear Reader?
What kind of cat person are you?

11 responses to “C Is For… Cats!

  1. I love, love, love my two cats. The way they purr when I scratch their heads is just the sweetest, most peaceful part of my day. Though the way the more territorial older one hisses and spits when the younger one gets near her….that’s not so fabulous. The whole family bears the scars of being fool enough to intervene.

    • That’s very generous of you! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

  2. My cats like to snuggle next to me while I’m on the bed typing on my laptop–except for Sasquatch, who wants to attack my fingers! I think cats are our muses because they’re so inscrutable–we can’t imagine what they’re thinking, and we writers love a mystery! 🙂

    • Well, I know what my big blond boy is thinking: I’m not ON the table, I’m on the clean laundry pile! ~rolls eyes~

  3. I love the fact that my cats’ blinking at me means, “I love you.” At least that’s the way I interpret it. After all, they do it when I worship them, lol!

  4. I’m a dog person mainly because my husband has cat allergies (and doesn’t like them lol), but I do love short hairs and have had a few black cats in my pre-husband days.
    Plus I seriously think our dog is a cat. He has very many cat like tendencies. He likes to rub up against you (which we found out that means he’s scenting you, and I’m curious if that means the same thing for cats?). And he loves to pounce, and reach out at you when you walk buy if he’s on the bed. So in a sense we have a cat.

    • Ha! That sounds adorable. Yes, cats do that for scenting and, they think, affection. There’s an interesting book on cat behavior called Tribe of Tiger; by Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, and the speculation is that house cats are most similar, socially, to lions.

      We have a cat that thinks he’s a dog. He was raised by our dog and she thinks he’s her puppy, so we have a confused household. 🙂

      Thanks for taking the time to comment!

      • Too funny! Our last dog had those characteristics too, and neither one of them have been around cats. Funny how animals are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

