Wednesday’s Wild Ride Around the Web with Aunt Noony – and a Question

20141230_0009

Happy New Year!  Well, okay, New Year’s Eve.  At Chez Noony, that means we’re getting ready for birthday celebrations.  The Boy (TM) turns 23 today (pardon me, but I’m not old enough to have a 23-year-old kid! ~howl~) and my husband decided to photobomb my project.  I was trying to take a picture of my newly-organized (should that be “noonly-organized”?) bookshelves.  Thanks, babe.

Shenanigans.  They make the holidays for me.  Like many of my friends, the old traditions for which we are nostalgic aren’t happening in the same way as we remember, or perhaps we try to force it and the effort makes a strain.  My project this New Year’s Eve, which is to organize my personal library, led me to a book I’d bought years ago at a used book sale.

20141231_0002

It’s a great book, I highly recommend it.  When I tried searching for it on Amazon, only a later one came up, with the word “survival” added to it.  I couldn’t search inside to see if it’s essentially the same book, just a newer edition.  The one I have is published by Crossway Books, Westchester, IL, 1985.  Worth grabbing if you can find it.

What I like about it is that she asks a lot of good questions, and makes the point that the Christmas that we think of, at least in the States, is one that was created by Charles Dickens – a Victorian Christmas that is, in large part, imaginary.  The first task Ms. Lawhead assigns is to go through one’s expectations of Christmas in detail and list which ones we hold ourselves.  Then, in a second pass, go through the list and check off which expectations were met by one’s last Christmas holiday – the objective being to determine the gap between expectation and reality.

It’s caused me to seriously re-think my approach to the holidays this year.  Those of you who have been reading me for a while have heard me say that I’m a child abuse survivor; for those of us who had childhood trauma, the holidays can be especially trying – because we have very different ideas about what “should” be happening and don’t necessarily understand all the emotions that are triggered for us.

So I ask you, Dear Reader – what are your favorite holiday traditions?  They don’t have to be a tradition with a capital T, just things that make the holidays special for you and yours (whether “holiday” to you is Christmas, Chunukah, Passover, Kwanzaa, or any of a number of other very special festival days).  How do you celebrate?

Now, for a little peek into what I’ve been doing this past week.  My interest in blogging has been rekindled and I’ve been playing with ideas for themes and days and posting topics.  I’m resurrecting some old favorites as well as some new things, so stay tuned!

2014-12-29 Blog Hop

First up is that we’re hosting a Blog Hop amongst some of the writers of the Just Romance.me crew.  Check it out!  We’ll have prizes and you can get acquainted with new-to-you writers as well as old standbys.

acn_blog_1280x512

Next, I’ve resurrected a theme that I used during the old Thursday 13 memes – A Writer In Her Library.  I’ll still do it on Thursdays, but this time I wanted to talk about books in my own way, rather than cramming 13 into the same post (because that was a lot of work, and it made for long posts every week).  Now, I like to write, so I won’t promise they’ll always be short, but I will take you on a wander through my library – so join me!

And finally, I am knitting again! You wouldn’t believe how much of a relief it is to “feel” like knitting.  It’s been a dry, dry summer and autumn, let me tell you.  But Noony’s got her groove back!

Banner 2010-08

I have two new features, Stash Sunday and Make Something Monday.  I hope you’ll stop by and tell me what crafts you like to play with or, if you haven’t gotten hooked by the bug yet, what crafts you might be tempted to try.

Whatever your celebratory preferences, I hope you enjoy them to the fullest today, the last day of 2014.  Here’s to a fabulous New Year!

“It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.”
– E.E. Cummings

**New** SEALED BY FIRE is available from LooseId LLC. An All Romance eBooks Bestseller!
The Chicagoland Shifters series:
Book 1 BURNING BRIGHT, available from Samhain Publishing.

Book 2 TIGER TIGER, available from Samhain Publishing. An All Romance eBooks Bestseller!
The Persis Chronicles:

**Coming Soon!** Watch for EMERALD KEEP from Torquere Books, out April 2015!

Check out EMERALD FIRE, available from Torquere Books.
Check out COOK LIKE A WRITER , available from Barnes and Noble.

My links: Blog | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon | LinkedIn | Pandora

Knoontime Knitting:  Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Ravelry
Noon and Wilder links: Blog | Taurus and Taurus (NSFW) | Website | Facebook
The Writer Zen Garden:  The Writers Retreat Blog | Forum | Facebook | Twitter | Meetup
National Novel Writing Month: NaNoWriMo | ChiWriMo | Blog | Facebook | Twitter
4 responses to “Wednesday’s Wild Ride Around the Web with Aunt Noony – and a Question

  1. Happy Belated Birthday to your son. 🙂
    I love to bake cookies. When I was young, we would go to my grandparents’ house on Christmas Eve and all of my aunts, uncles and cousins would join as well. We had good food and lots of fun. 🙂
    My favorite tradition now is having my mom sleep over on Christmas Eve so that she can be here when the kids get up in the morning.
    I hope that you have a wonderful New Year!

    • Ooh, that does sound fun! My favorite cookie is this little almond thing. My husband thinks it’s called almond mice, or was in his family, but I’m not sure. I think I’ll have to try a bunch of almond recipes and see which one is right. 😛

  2. Every Christmas, we have family and friends over to our house in the afternoon/evening for games and snack foods. It makes for a chaotic, fun, unpredictable evening with lots of laughter and talking. Loads of fun!

Leave a Reply

