Welcome to NaNoWriMo – Nice Girls Writing Naughty Style

Hello there.

I’m Leela Lou Dahlin and I’m so happy for my turn on our NaNoWriMo event. Two years ago for my NaNo I was doing the challenge with Savvy Authors–an online community for authors–and it was a very successful and fun adventure. I wrote a story about a fireman and his friend who had a plan for her life but every time she turned around it seemed like her best friend was standing in her way. She knew if she didn’t get him and his never-gonna -commit self out of her mind she wasn’t going to get what she wished for. The plan was to work him out of her mind and have a few new tricks up her sleeve, but they both may get more than they bargained for.

I loved this story until about halfway through the month, then I got a case of the what if’s. What if this sucks? What if no one ever reads it? I took all my thoughts and put them on the back burner,  stuck with my story and was finished before the month was out. As excited and ready as I was when I finished my story, it still took me a little while to submit it to my editor. The story has been changed around just a touch but for the most part it’s my original story.

Rumor Has It, Leela Lou Dahlin, erotic romance

Yes…my current release is the story I first completed during my NaNoWriMo a few years ago. When I found out it was going to be out right before November, I knew we’d come full circle.

What I learned from NaNoWriMo is that I could write fast and it would still be good. Better still the story flowed better when I wasn’t agonizing about every word. So get the story out and then edit it. I know…I know this isn’t anything new but it’s very true.

You can get Rumor Has It at Amazon, Loose Id, and ARe

Stop by and say hello – LeelaLouDahlin@gmail.com

Facebook – Leela Lou Dahlin

Twitter – LeelaLou_2

Goodreads – Leela Lou Dahlin

One person will win a copy of my NaNoWriMo story Rumor Has It–just tell me what’s the best piece of advise you’ve ever received. I’ll pick a winner from the comments at the end of the event November 26. You can also win a $25 ARe gift card from Nice Girls Writing Naughty just by commenting on any of the posts on the event. So come daily and comment…let your voice be heard.

NGWN+Promo+November+2014+with+text

In closing as you pound out word after word be confident that your masterpiece is going to land on a readers virtual bookshelf, stay encouraged and keep writing through November and beyond.

10 responses to “Welcome to NaNoWriMo – Nice Girls Writing Naughty Style

  1. Ooh, I suppose the best advice I received was not so much spelled out as instilled by how my parents raised me. They wanted me to be honest, not let others dictate who or what I should be, and always act with integrity.

    I’m totally enjoying NaNoWriMo as a way to resist editing, by the way. And your story sounds great!

  2. It is so hard to turn off that internal editor and just let yourself write, but the way NaNo is set up actually helped me do that. You are right! Write now, edit later… 🙂

    • I agree, Ella! It’s sometimes hard to remember that writing and editing are mutually exclusive. I found NaNo helped me through that process to!

  3. Great post! The best advice I ever got was from my dad. He always instilled in me the understanding that if I put forth my best effort, I could be confident in the outcome of my actions. So, if I rocked a project (writing or job related), I knew it was my best work. If it fell apart, I could accept the loss (after an appropriate amount of sulking) as one I fought for but clearly needed to rethink before I tried again.
    Best wishes to all who are moving toward their NaNoWriMo goals! Keep it up!

      • I think that sounds like great advice! I loved the part about “an appropriate amount of sulking,” that made me smile. Too true – but you’re so right, to pick yourself up and keep going. Thanks for commenting and being part of the event!

Leave a comment